Haying Time

We were at an estate sale yesterday Haying Timeat an old home in Green Hills.  This house had a dozen little hideaways in it.  While searching through the stuff in the basement, I found an old picture titled : Haying Time – The Last Load.  It was a reprint from an 1800’s Currier and Ives lithograph. I really liked the rustic look it had.   When we got home, I started making a frame for it from old barn wood.  As I pulled it from the original frame, it wasn’t a print at all.  It was a calendar page from June 1954.  Evidently it was just as striking to someone then as it is to me now.  But, all said, it does make a beautiful rustic wall hanging.

This and many other pieces will be available at our next sale, which is tentatively set for May 14.  Before then, if you are interested in any of the items pictured on this site, drop us a comment.

 

 

 

Leave a comment