Three Peas in a Pod

Just about everybody takes a stab at repurposing furniture.  They just can’t help themselves.  Too many home improvement shows and a jillion people on social media chiming in.  It looks so easy.  But you know what?   Looks can be deceiving.

The piece you see in the picture below was a repurposing project gone wrong.  The chairs are still in progress.  The table had been painted top to bottom (poorly).  To add insult to injury, someone decided dark glaze on white paint was just the ticket.  It wasn’t.

The people we bought it from had good intentions, but when the paint removal project yielded only a spot the size of dinner plate, it was yard sale here I come.

So, what happens?  Most of the time it is a failure to understand and follow the three P‘s.

Number one: Preparation.  I’m not talking about preparing the surface, although that is very important (cleaning, sanding, deglossing).  I’m talking about the preparation of understanding.  Do you realize what you are undertaking?  Have you counted the cost?  My wife and I hoard finishing materials like some people do collectibles.  Be buy every brush, finish product, and finishing tools we find at yard sales and closeouts.  We have more tools than Home Depot.  Therefore the added expense that most people encounter is muted for us.  Those things I’ve mentioned, aren’t cheap, and they are the difference in a poor job and one you can be proud of.

Number two:  Patience.  This is one that my wife has helped me with.  I am a get started and get finished type person.  I spent too many years in a work environment where time meant money.  That won’t work when you are repurposing furniture.  Make sure you are giving yourself the time to complete each step without rushing.  Details don’t mean everything, but they mean a lot.

Number three:  Perspiration.  Yes, it is hard work if you do it correctly.  The table below took me most of the day to get the layers of paint off without ruining the original surface.

If it sounds like I’m discouraging you, I’m not.  It can be one the most rewarding things you’ll ever do.  We have pieces in our home that we will never part with, due to the joy of seeing them come to life again.  You can do that!  Just remember the three P‘s.

Square table

 

 

 

Leave a comment